The best and worst reason to buy new books

 

I was looking over my American fiction shelves last night and did a tally. Of the 70 authors, I have 18 women authors. Three (ish) queer authors. Three black authors. One American Indian author.

This isn’t going to be a full fledged post where I break down my interpretation of events as a white queer upper middle class woman. I have to leave for work in an hour and I haven’t showered yet, so you know there’s that. No this is just a little nugget of a post because all I’ve been craving for literature lately is Vonnegut, Heller, and Mailer and I think it’s time to change up my diet lately. Internet, do you have suggestions? Because I want them. Oh and don’t limit yourself to American fiction–spread it out. The only region where I have an almost perfect gender split of authors is UK (huh, right?). Oh and this is a side note that doesn’t really have a place here, but I don’t have any (fiction) Korean authors so if you have any recommends I will eat them up.

On a lighter note, I guess, it was a bit hilarious once I started categorizing my authors, I had been whining to David about my shock at the lack of female authors on my shelf. The first five authors on my shelf? KA ApplegateMadeleine L’EngleToni MorrisonTom Robbins, and Alison Bechdel

Not bad, but now lets make the rest of my shelves look like that, okay? I mean, only alphabetized because I know I know but I haven’t gotten around to it yet.

Leave a Reply

