decolonizer: The Bookclub

*DEcolonizer Bookclub*.jpgAs a decolonizer, I

acknowledge that we live in a society steeped with racism, homophobia, sexism, ableism, transphobia, and that I want to help change it

believe  books are awesome and that reading is magical

commit to reading from & listening to marginalized communities

Intersectionality is the new wave of feminism. The belief that our differences are just as worthy of being supported and uplifted as that which make us the same is vital for any kind of chance as a society. I’m making it my priority to step outside my bubble, outside of my comfort zone and privilege, and do what I can to do my part. Mostly? I want to learn.

you-cant-touch-my-hair

 

First up? You Can’t Touch My Hair by the talented Phoebe Robinson. She’s witty, insightful, funny, and has filled my netflix queue with recommendations. I’m a little less than halfway through and absolutely smitten.

She also has a podcast with Jessica Williams called 2 Dope Queens that is definitely worth checking out.

*******

If you want to reach and leave a comment here with your thoughts about the book I’d love to read them!

 

Leave a Reply

